AI search fix

Best GEO tools in 2026: 10 platforms compared

The GEO tool market splits into two different jobs: citation-monitoring platforms that track whether ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews mention your brand over time, and technical-readiness tools that check whether AI crawlers can reach and parse your site in the first place. This page compares 10 tools — AthenaHQ, GEO Fix, Geoptie, Mangools, Otterly.ai, Peec AI, Profound, SE Ranking, Semrush, and Trakkr — listed alphabetically, not ranked, on what buyers actually ask: the price, whether you can try it without a sales call, which engines it covers, and how often it refreshes. Every figure was re-checked against each vendor's own pages in August 2026. No tool here, including ours, can guarantee AI citations, rankings, or sales.

Prices and packaging change often here, and several figures we published in July needed correcting this round. Every figure below was read from the vendor's own pricing, product, or documentation pages; where a vendor publishes no number, that is stated instead of estimated. Currency follows the vendor: most bill in USD, Peec AI and SE Ranking in EUR.

GEO tools compared

ToolCategoryStarting price (August 2026)Free tier or trialEngines at entry priceData refreshBest for
AthenaHQCitation trackerStarter $295/mo; Enterprise custom. Annual 17% off, amount not shown.Free Essential tier, no card. No time-boxed trial.5 free; 10 on Starter, including Gemini and Grok.Weekly — docs show Mon/Wed/Fri, no daily option.A real free tier before paying.
GEO FixTechnical readinessExpress Check free. Monitoring $39/mo and $89/mo — waitlist, not open.Free audit, no card, no demo call.Not applicable — checks crawler access, not mentions.On demand; scheduled re-audits come with the plans.Sites that have not confirmed AI crawlers can reach them.
GeoptieCitation trackerStarter $41/mo, Professional $83/mo, Enterprise $333/mo.Free no-signup audit tools. No trial published.Any 4 of 7 per tier; Gemini and Grok are among the 7.Daily on all three tiers.Cheapest daily tracking with brand slots.
MangoolsFree check + SEO suiteGrader free; AI Search Watcher bundled into paid SEO plans, no standalone price published.Free account, no card. Prices render client-side.3 engines anonymously, 7 with a free account.Weekly reports for the Watcher.A free first look before paying.
Otterly.aiCitation tracker + URL auditsLite $29/mo, Standard $189/mo, Premium $489/mo; 15% off annually. Enterprise from $1,000/mo.Trial offered; length not on the pricing page (help center says 7 days).4 included. Claude, Gemini and AI Mode are paid add-ons.Daily on all paid tiers.Lowest month-to-month entry price here.
Peec AICitation trackerStarter, Pro, Advanced, Enterprise. Prices load client-side and vary by region — none readable in August.Self-serve trial; length not published.6 selectable, including Gemini. Grok not published.Daily on all self-serve tiers.Unlimited seats from the entry tier.
ProfoundCitation trackerStarter $99/mo, Growth $399/mo month-to-month; $82.50 and $332.50 billed yearly. Enterprise custom."Try for free" on Growth; length not stated.1 on Starter, 3 on Growth, up to 9 on Enterprise — Grok only there.Daily on all tiers.Agencies needing engine-by-engine tier control.
SE RankingSEO suite + AI add-onCore €87.20/mo annually (€109 monthly), now with 100 daily AI prompts. Toolkit add-on from €63.20/mo.14-day trial, no credit card.AI Overviews, AI Mode, Perplexity, ChatGPT. Gemini not named.Daily prompts on the paid plans.SE Ranking customers adding AI tracking.
SemrushSEO suite + AI add-onAI Visibility Toolkit $99/mo per domain, billed annually.No trial on the toolkit itself, just a demo report; Semrush One reaches the same reports and is trial-covered.ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini, Perplexity. No Grok.Daily rankings for tracked prompts.Semrush customers extending a subscription.
TrakkrCitation trackerGrowth $100/mo, Scale $500/mo, Enterprise from $790/mo. Billed in USD, displayed in local currency.14-day trial, self-serve. Card requirement not published.All 8 on every paid plan, including Gemini and Grok.Daily on Growth and Scale.Gemini and Grok daily at entry price.

Free · 2 minutes · no card

See what AI crawlers hit on your site

Technical blockers, missing context, weak AI-readiness signals — in one HTML report.

No card and no payment for the audit. GEO Fix does not guarantee AI visibility or citations.

You'll get an HTML report on AI crawler access, robots.txt, llms.txt, and schema on your own domain — free to run.

How this comparison was verified

Every price, engine list, trial and refresh interval was read from the vendor's own pricing, product, or documentation pages in August 2026 — not from review sites or affiliate roundups, which often repeat outdated numbers. Where a vendor's own pages contradict each other, both readings are reported rather than resolved for them. Several figures we published in July turned out to be wrong on re-reading — usually a misread price toggle, not a vendor moving — and each correction is noted below.

What this check did not do matters too: we did not buy and run every paid plan, so feature depth comes from what each vendor publishes, not from hands-on testing. Two vendors could not be read on price at all — Mangools and Peec AI render figures in the browser, and Peec AI also varies currency by region — so those cells say so rather than carry a number we never saw. Disclosure: GEO Fix is one of the ten, and it is a technical-readiness tool rather than a citation tracker.

How to evaluate a GEO tool yourself

Whichever tools end up on a shortlist, test them the same way. Pick three to five URLs representing a site's real templates — homepage, a product page, a blog or FAQ page — and run every shortlisted tool against that same list; one tool's demo against a competitor's report on a different domain proves nothing. Then verify the biggest claims in raw server or CDN logs: a tool that calls a bot blocked when the logs show 200 responses is a reason to distrust its other findings too.

Three red flags apply to every tool here. Be cautious of a report built around a single "AI visibility score" with no underlying evidence — which bots, which URLs, what response codes; a score that cannot be audited is not verifiable. Be skeptical of screenshots showing a brand mentioned in ChatGPT as proof a tool works: one conversation is not repeatable evidence, and no tool, including GEO Fix, can guarantee future citations. And check whether fix suggestions are generic or tied to what the tool actually found.

AthenaHQ

AthenaHQ's entry point is a named free tier, Essential, funded by a one-time grant the vendor describes as "$25 free credit" — 300 credits, where one credit is one AI response — covering five engines with self-serve signup and no card. Paid Starter is $295/month for 3,600 credits and ten engines: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, and Meta AI. Enterprise is custom.

Two details are easy to miss. API access is not bundled into Starter: the plan table marks it a paid add-on there, against "Included" on Enterprise. And the cadence is weekly, not daily — AthenaHQ's own documentation describes a schedule defaulting to Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, with options only to run less often. Because billing is credit-metered, prompt, brand, and seat counts are not published at any tier.

GEO Fix

GEO Fix is a different kind of tool from the other nine. Instead of monitoring whether AI systems cite a brand, Express Check audits whether AI crawlers — GPTBot, PerplexityBot, ClaudeBot and others — can actually reach a site, whether robots.txt or a CDN/WAF rule blocks them, whether llms.txt exists, and whether schema.org JSON-LD is valid, then delivers the fix files and CMS steps rather than a score. The audit is free and needs no card or demo call. The paid monitoring plans — $39 and $89 a month — are not open yet: the cards collect a waitlist.

Express Check runs as a one-off diagnostic rather than a recurring scan: re-checking after a CMS migration or a new CDN rule means running it again. Scheduled re-audits are what the monitoring plans add at launch. GEO Fix does not track AI citations the way Profound, Otterly.ai, or Trakkr do — if brand-mention monitoring is the need, another tool here fits better. Like every product here, it cannot guarantee AI citations, rankings, or sales.

Geoptie

Geoptie undercuts most of this page: Starter is $41/month for 15 prompts and two tracked brands, Professional is $83/month for 100 prompts and ten brands, and Enterprise is $333/month for 400 prompts and unlimited brands. Every tier includes unlimited audit reports, content generation, and daily tracking — the entry plan is not downgraded to weekly, which is not the norm here.

The engine line needs reading carefully. Geoptie publishes seven engines but caps every paid tier at "any 4 of 7", so coverage is a choice rather than a total — needing both Gemini and Grok spends half the allowance. The seven names are assembled from Geoptie's product pages; the pricing page shows icons only. No trial of the paid plans is published, though several audit tools are free and need no signup.

Mangools

AI Search Grader is a free, one-off check rather than a subscription: anonymous visitors get three models, and a free account unlocks all seven. It reports a visibility percentage, an average rank position, and a combined 0-100 AI Search Score. There is also a permanent free Mangools plan that needs no card.

Ongoing monitoring is sold as AI Search Watcher, bundled into the paid SEO plans and reported weekly rather than daily. Mangools publishes no standalone price for it, and its plan pages render prices in the browser — no figure was readable from the page text in either the July or the August check. Treat any Mangools price seen in a search snippet or review as unconfirmed until you load the pricing page yourself.

Otterly.ai

Otterly.ai prices below Profound at every self-serve tier: Lite is $29/month for 15 search prompts, Standard is $189/month for 100 prompts plus API and MCP access, and Premium is $489/month for 400 prompts and 10,000 monthly GEO URL audits. Annual billing cuts roughly 15%, itemized as $25, $160, and $422 a month. An Enterprise tier from $1,000/month is now published too.

Four engines are included on every tier — ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, and Microsoft Copilot — with daily tracking and unlimited team members even on the $29 plan. Claude, Gemini, and Google AI Mode are paid add-ons, so broader coverage raises the effective price; Grok is not mentioned anywhere in Otterly.ai's published material, which is not the same as confirmed absence. A trial is offered, but the vendor is inconsistent: the help center says seven days with 50 prompts, while a product page advertises 14.

Peec AI

Peec AI publishes four tiers by name — Starter, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise — with unlimited seats and tracked regions from the entry plan up. Six engines are selectable on the self-serve tiers: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, Google AI Mode, and Google AI Overviews, under a headline claim of up to 11 models. Tracking is daily on every self-serve tier.

Prices are the gap. Peec AI injects them with client-side code and varies the currency by visitor region, and none were readable in the text of its pricing page in August — so the euro figures we published in July have been withdrawn rather than carried forward unverified. The trial is self-serve with no demo call, but its length is not published either; the terms describe it only as a limited period. Load the pricing page from the region you will buy from.

Profound

Profound is an AI-citation tracking platform aimed at agencies and larger brands. Starter is $99/month and Growth is $399/month month-to-month; an optional annual toggle lowers those to $82.50 and $332.50 a month, advertised as two months free. What the entry price buys is narrow: Starter tracks ChatGPT only with 50 prompts. Growth adds Perplexity and Google AI Overviews with 100 prompts, and Enterprise is custom, covering up to nine engines including Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, and DeepSeek.

One thing we reported in July was wrong and is corrected here: Prompt Volumes — panel data on what real users ask AI assistants — and Agent Analytics, the crawler and server-log side, are included across the tiers rather than sold on top of them, though their depth varies by plan. Tracking is daily on all tiers, and a trial is offered on Growth without a sales call, though its length is not stated on the pricing page. If the ChatGPT-only entry tier is the sticking point, the closest alternatives are compared separately.

SE Ranking

SE Ranking is primarily a classic SEO platform — rank tracking, audits, backlinks — and the way it sells AI tracking changed since our last check. The Core plan, €87.20/month on annual billing or €109 month-to-month, now bundles 100 daily AI prompts natively, which means basic AI-visibility tracking no longer requires buying the add-on at all. Growth is €188/month on annual billing.

The separate AI Search Toolkit add-on starts at €63.20/month on annual billing (€79 month-to-month) for 200 tracked prompts and covers AI Overviews, AI Mode, Perplexity, and ChatGPT. Gemini appears on SE Ranking's wider product pages but is not named in the add-on's inclusion list, so coverage at that tier is not clearly published. The trial is a genuine differentiator: 14 days, fully functional, no credit card.

Semrush

Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit is $99/month per domain, billed annually, covering 25 tracked prompts with daily AI rankings and brand-mention reports for ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini, and Perplexity. Grok is not among them. Semrush also offers a free AI Search Visibility Checker with a small number of runs, which is a reasonable way to see the output shape before paying.

The trial has a catch worth knowing. Semrush's help center lists the AI Visibility Toolkit as an exception to its seven-day trial — "No free trial available, but you can explore a free demo report" — but that is not the whole picture: the same visibility and prompt-research reports are documented as reachable through Semrush One, which the trial does cover. As with SE Ranking, this is an add-on to a broader subscription rather than a standalone product.

Trakkr

Trakkr sells flat plans rather than a ladder of feature-gated tiers: Growth is $100/month for one brand and 50 prompts, Scale is $500/month for up to ten brands with white-label portals and API access, and Enterprise starts from $790/month. Prices are set and billed in USD, but the page renders them in the visitor's local currency, so the number on screen may not be the number charged.

Trakkr is the clearest answer here to a question buyers keep asking: it includes all eight tracked models — ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok, Meta AI, DeepSeek, and Google AI Overviews — on every paid plan, with daily refresh on Growth and Scale, and no per-model add-ons. It also reports AI-crawler activity and estimates revenue from AI-referred traffic. The 14-day trial is self-serve, though whether a card is required is not published.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best GEO tool?

There is no single best GEO tool — it depends on whether the need is AI-citation monitoring (AthenaHQ, Geoptie, Mangools, Otterly.ai, Peec AI, Profound, SE Ranking, Semrush, Trakkr) or a technical readiness check (GEO Fix). Compare the table above against what needs solving first.

Which GEO tools track Gemini and Grok daily?

Trakkr is the only tool here that publishes both on every paid plan with daily refresh, from $100/month. Geoptie can cover both, but its tiers cap you at any 4 of 7 engines. Profound gates Grok to its custom-priced Enterprise tier. AthenaHQ includes both from $295/month, but its documentation describes weekly scheduling, not daily.

Which GEO tool has a free trial without a demo call?

None of the ten requires a sales call to start. The longest published trials are Trakkr and SE Ranking at 14 days, and SE Ranking states no card is needed. Otterly.ai and Profound offer trials without stating a length on their pricing pages. AthenaHQ, Mangools and GEO Fix have no time limit at all — they offer free tiers or free checks instead.

Which GEO tools cost under $100 a month?

Month-to-month: Otterly.ai Lite at $29, Geoptie at $41 or $83, and Profound Starter at $99 — though that one tracks ChatGPT and nothing else. Semrush’s $99 and SE Ranking’s €87.20 are annual-billing prices, so paying monthly costs more. GEO Fix’s Express Check is free to run; its monitoring plans are not open yet.

Are GEO tools free?

Some do: Mangools AI Search Grader, AthenaHQ's Essential tier, Geoptie's audit tools, and GEO Fix's Express Check are all free. Most ongoing monitoring plans start between $29 and $100 a month.

What's the difference between a GEO tool and an SEO tool?

Most tools here are AI-citation trackers, not classic rank trackers — they measure whether ChatGPT, Perplexity, or Google AI Overviews mention a brand, not Google search position. SE Ranking and Semrush bundle both under one account.

Does any tool guarantee my brand will be cited by ChatGPT or Perplexity?

No. None of the tools compared here — including GEO Fix — can guarantee citations, mentions, or rankings in any AI system. Each platform controls retrieval independently, and no monitoring or fix tool changes that.

How current is this pricing?

Re-checked against each vendor's own pages in August 2026, and several figures we had published needed correcting. Verify directly before buying, especially for Mangools and Peec AI, whose prices could not be read from the page at all.

Should a technical-readiness check and a citation tracker be used together?

Often yes. A tracker shows whether AI systems mention a brand; it cannot fix a blocked crawler that is the reason they do not. Many teams run a technical check first, then track citations once crawler access is confirmed.

Updated